h1

A Surprise At “The Soprano State” Premier

October 20, 2010

Monday night marked a first.  It was the first time I covered a movie premier when I was in the movie and didn’t know it.

“The Soprano State” documentary had its official opening at the Ziegfeld Theatre on 54th Street and before the screening I interviewed the producer, Steve Kalafer (he recieved an Oscar nomination for one of my favorite short documentaries, “Curtain Call” and I was happy to finally meet him) and others involved in the project.  I could not stay to see the film, which chronicles political corruption in New Jersey, because we needed to finish our piece for the late newscast.

So I was surprised to hear the next morning from several people who did see it, that my voice from a televison report is used in the movie with my name titled on the screen.

“The Soprano State” is playing in the New York area starting Friday. If you see it, listen for me!

Leave a comment